Quick News and Events Links:

CAR News & Events

Education & Training

Government Affairs

Trade Show

Newsletter Downloads




BACK TO CAR NEWS & EVENTS MAIN PAGE


Governor McCrory Signed H26 into Law

Raleigh, North Carolina July 23, 2013 -- Hopefully, all of you were aware that House Bill 26, introduced by Representative Moore presented a genuine challenge to North Carolina recyclers. His proposal would have moved the 10 year old title requirement to 12 or perhaps even 15 years. Fortunately, one of our Board of Directors had a personal relationship with Representative Moore and that facilitated a sit-down to explain our side of the story. Billy Standridge, Ricky Young and others met with Moore in Raleigh and demonstrated to him successfully that his legislative proposal would have a genuine detrimental effect on recyclers in our State.

On 23 July 2013, Governor McCrory signed H26 into law and we are all pleased that the 10 year title rule remains in effect. The readers of this should know however that there are new requirements in effect and that the penalties for failure to comply are even stiffer than before.

First, each recycler acquiring a vehicle for the purpose of scrapping/recycling or selling of parts must maintain a log in a format promulgated and approved by NC DMV that reflects all aspects of the transaction. This includes name and address of the seller, photocopy of the seller’s driver’s license and a written statement that the vehicle will be scrapped, dismantled and/or sold for parts only. Furthermore, within 72 hours of the acquisition of the motor vehicle by the recycler, this acquisition must be reported to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System. While the federal law requiring NMVTIS is already in place, now the State of North Carolina has codified the federal law and incorporated it into the laws of this state. Such codification now gives DMV’s License and Theft Bureau the ability and authority to enforce the NMVTIS reporting requirement. Failure to comply subjects the recycler to a Class ‘I’ felony and a minimum fine of $1000.00 per occurrence.

Lastly, this legislation requires that NC DMV develop a methodology whereby a recycler can, via the internet, confirm whether a motor vehicle has been reported stolen. The major aspects of House Bill 26 become effective on 1 December 2013.

CAR would like to acknowledge the very strong assistance of Steve Levetan with Pull A Part, Travis Ward, Billy Standridge, Ricky Young, Dale Bevell and others for protecting the recycling industry in North Carolina.


Carolina Auto Recyclers Association

CAR is a trade association dedicated to the professional development of the auto recycling industry in North Carolina. We serve the members in areas of education, government, business, and social activities as they relate to auto dismantling and recycling.

© Copyright Automotiveinet & Carolina Auto Recyclers Association, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Website & Marketing by: Automotiveinet